Marcus Leadership Institute



The Edna and Nat Marcus Leadership Institute is a two-year program, which seeks to identify and train emerging leadership within the synagogue. Nominations for the Marcus Institute are submitted by officers, committee and auxiliary chairs, community professionals and staff at B’nai Jeshurun. Candidates are chosen from the field of nominees by the Marcus Institute Steering Committee.

The Edna and Nat Marcus Leadership Institute was created through the generosity of Herbert & Cookie Marcus and Martin & Lois Marcus to honor the memory of their parents. Edna and Nat thought of B’nai Jeshurun as their spiritual home for nearly 50 years. The Institute was developed in response to the Strategic Plan adopted by B’nai Jeshurun in 2003. The plan called for the creation of an enhanced system to prepare future leadership for the congregation.

CLICK HERE to see our latest MARCUS Brochure

For more information about our Marcus Leadership institute, contact Shani Kadis.

Our 2016-2018 Marcus Fellows


From L-R: Jonathan Schonfeld, Rachel Schwarz, Adam Hirsh, Abbie Levin, Mike Guggenheim, 
Michelle Feinberg,  Olivia Potash, Julie Sukert, Cathy Randall, and Rabbi Stephen Weiss
Not pictured: Emily Hoffman

Committee Chairs: Cindy Chaiten & Gena Cohen


Past Marcus Fellows
Lori Abraham Kim Levin
Laura Benett Aaron Lichterman
Richard Berkowitz Theresa Markowitz
Dr. Patti Berns Scott Matasar
David Blocker Sherry Miller
Robert Botnick Daniel Moskowitz
Susan Brelus Dale Nash
Matt Brower Susan Nash
Cindy Chaiten Eve Phython
Rifka Claypool Leah Polikoff
Margie Cohen Allison Proper
Gena Cohen Gilon Rubanenko
Charles Daroff Michelle Sass
Rebekah Dorman Paula Schaffer-Polakof
Jesse Frankel Wendy Schwarz
Steve Galun Lorna Siegal
Dan Gellar Darby Steiger
Jerry Gideon Miriam Vishny
Michael Haas Susan Warshay
Lee Jackson Michelle Cydulka Weinstein
Mark Jacobs Marla Wolf
Ilana Katz Jeremy Zelwin
Jody Katzner Robert Zimmerman
Amanda Kurland Teresa Zimmerman
David Levin Jill Zimon
Doug Levin